My First Attempt: The Million Dollar Spaghetti

I never dreamed that I would find interest, let alone comfort, in spending time in the kitchen.  This new venture into the cooking/baking world is very foreign to me, to say the least.  It started quite recently, the beginning of January, to be exact, in a simple attempt to save money.  You see, my boyfriend and I absolutely LOVE food.  We love checking out new restaurants, discovering new spots, and eating all the wonderful delicacies they have to offer.  Alas, this has cost us quite a lot of money, so upon reflection on New Year’s Eve, it came to me that we shall cut costs by learning to cook/bake and eating out less frequently. First and foremost, I do not take credit for any of the recipes that will be posted on this page.  Most of the recipes I’ve tried thus far, has been through Pinterest.  I will try my very best to give credit to where it’s due, as long as it’s available for me to do so.  Secondly, let me declare right now that I am novice to this cooking/baking world, so please be kind!  Last but not least, everyone’s taste is different, so if I state that something is absolutely delicious or not so much — these are my opinions, which may differ from many other taste buds.  With that being said, here it is, folks.  This was me and my boyfriend’s first attempt at cooking — the Million Dollar Spaghetti, a recipe I got from Pinterest.

The Million Dollar Spaghetti
(as seen from Ashley Kaitlin’s blogspot)
Ingredients:
1 lb ground beef
1 can spaghetti sauce
8 oz cream cheese
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 lb cottage cheese
1 stick butter
8 oz spaghetti noodles
1 bag sharp cheddar cheese
Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 and boil spaghetti noodles.  Mix the cream cheese, sour cream, and cottage cheese together and set aside.  Cook the ground beef.  Brown it, drain it, then add the spaghetti sauce.  Slice up the butter and place some slices at the bottom of the casserole dish.  Place half of the cooked spaghetti noodles over the butter then spread cheese mixture all over it.  Add the rest of the noodles, topping it with the remaining slices of butter.  Pour the meat sauce, spread, then pop in the oven for 30 minutes.  Take out the casserole and add the bag of sharp cheddar cheese on top.  Pop back into the oven for another 15 minutes.
Image
My two cents:
First of all, the website was very user friendly for the novice cook, being that the author included a step-by-step picture demonstration.  Second, I was really skeptical about the cottage cheese, but it didn’t compromise the taste, no matter how much I dislike the ingredient.  Lastly, it turned out pretty good.  Would I make it again?  Probably not.  Not that it wasn’t good or anything like that.  This particular recipe is very creamy and cheesy and I just prefer my pasta on the saucy side.
This entry was posted in Gluttonous Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

