Miniature S’mores Pies topped with Strawberries

Been getting into the habit lately of making dessert to go along with dinner, especially during weekends.  Not only was my boyfriend over this weekend, but the rest of my siblings and their significant others were also surprisingly available — enough to enjoy a meal together.  The boyfriend and I got to cooking pretty late but I was desperate to whip up a quick dessert.  Luckily, I had some left over chocolate ganache from the previous night and I’ve been meaning to use up the sliced strawberries sitting in the fridge.  A little improvisation and I whipped up some miniature s’mores pies with strawberries.

Miniature S’mores Pies topped with Strawberries
(adapted from Chef-In-Training)

Ingredients:
1 pkg 6 mini graham cracker pie crusts
8 oz cream cheese
1 tub Cool Whip
1 cup powdered sugar
1 jar marshmallow creme
3/4 cup semi sweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 cup sliced strawberries

Instructions:
Pop the mini graham cracker crusts in the toaster.  Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine cream cheese, cool whip, powdered sugar, and marshmallow creme until smooth.  Distribute the mixture filling into the mini graham cracker pie crusts evenly.  Pour heavy cream into saucepan and heat on medium-high until it reaches a boil then put heat on low.  Add the chocolate in and stir until completely melted.  Let chocolate cool.  Spread chocolate ganache on top of each pie then add sliced strawberries on top of that.

ImageMy two cents:
This dessert was quick, simple, and absolutely delectable!  Like I mentioned, I already had the ganache on hand and the sliced strawberries so I merely had to toast the graham cracker pie crusts and whip up the marshmallow filling.  This recipe actually yielded more filling, enough to fill an additional package of 6 mini pie crusts.  I couldn’t stand to waste it.  Luckily, I had just bought a regular size graham cracker pie crust so I put the rest of the filling there, as well as use up the rest of the ganache and strawberries.  The strawberries turned out to be a great idea.  Initially, I wanted to just use it up before it went bad in the fridge, plus, I figured it would make the dessert look better with a pop of color.  What it really did was balance out the dessert by cutting the richness/sweetness of the creme and chocolate.  It looks beautiful, it tastes wonderful, and I will definitely be making it again in the near future.

This entry was posted in Delectable Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

