Nina’s Pineapple Teriyaki Beef

My true first attempt at cooking involved a crock pot.  There was something so appealing about the easiness of it — throw in the ingredients, forget about it, then eat when ready.  Such a convenience!  I first tasted this pineapple teriyaki beef from a potluck at work.  My best friend brought her crock pot to work, containing nothing but deliciousness inside.  It was so good and so easy that I just had to replicate it myself.  Throw it on top of some steamed rice and you’re good to go.

Nina’s Pineapple Teriyaki Beef

Ingredients:
1 beef chuck roast
1 can pineapple chunks in pineapple juice (not simple syrup)
1 bottle Soy Vay’s Veri Veri Teriyaki sauce (has sesame seeds)
1 tbsp minced garlic
2 white or yellow onions, sliced

Instructions:
Slice onions and place at the bottom of the crock pot.  Place chuck roast on top of the onions.  Sprinkle minced garlic over the top of the roast.  Pour the entire bottle of teriyaki sauce in the crock pot.  Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.  Afterwards, pour the pineapple chunks in its juice in the crock pot and mix.  Serve over steamed rice.

Image

My two cents:
Obviously I took a liking to this dish, which made me replicate it in the first place.  It’s simple, it’s convenient, and it’s super good.  I don’t particularly like onions so I sliced them thickly, in order spot them easily to push aside for others to eat.  I didn’t omit them completely because I felt its addition would enhance the overall flavor of the dish.  Other than that, I have no other modifications. This dish truly opened my eyes to the use of a crock pot!  Thanks, Nina!

This entry was posted in Gluttonous Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

