Crock Pot Mushroom Beef

I can’t tell you enough how much respect I have for the crock pot.  I could be sleeping or at work and it’s getting my next meal ready for me.  Found another recipe through Pinterest, but I couldn’t find the actual recipe on the website, outside of Pinterest.  Simple recipe but definitely makes a hearty, comforting meal.

Crock Pot Mushroom Beef
(seen from Pinterest through Food2Please)

Ingredients:
2 lbs beef stew meat
1 can cream of mushroom
1 packet brown gravy mix
1 packet lipton dry onion soup mix
1 cup water
mushrooms, sliced

Instructions:
Mix the gravy mix and onion soup mix with water and combine with the cream of mushroom.  Place the stew meat at the bottom of the crock pot and pour the combined mixture on top.  Toss the sliced mushrooms in and heat on low for 6 to 8 hours.

ImageMy two cents:
I’ve made this dish a couple times now.  The first time, I used stew meat and the second, I used a chuck roast.  I suppose it doesn’t matter too much because the meat will be tender regardless.  Also, I would add a lot of mushrooms since the mushrooms tend to shrink being in the crock pot that long.  Maybe throwing it in the last hour and a half or 2 hours would suffice if one didn’t have that many mushrooms to begin with.  In any case, I liked the taste of the gravy and I enjoyed this dish with some steamed rice.  Please ignore the top left portion of the picture above.  That happens to be some homemade Pad See Ewe with broccoli that my mom made that day.  I know, I know.  I should have taken a separate picture!  Anyway, this is an easy meal fix and even better when coming home to it from a long day of work.

This entry was posted in Gluttonous Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

