Crock Pot Beef Stroganoff

Jury duty has me going on Pinterest quite a bit, especially during the down time.  When I saw a recipe for beef stroganoff on there, I had to make it as soon as I got home.  I still had a few errands to take care of but luckily, being that this is another crock pot recipe, it gave me the freedom to finish up the rest of my chores.

Crock Pot Beef Stroganoff
(as seen from Five Little Peaches’ blog)

Ingredients:
1 to 2 lbs stew meat
1 tsp salt
pepper, to taste
1 onion, sliced
garlic powder, to taste
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp ketchup
1 & 1/2 cup beef broth
1/3 cup flour
1/2 cup water
8 oz fresh mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup sour cream

Instructions:
Put stew meat in crock pot, sprinkled with the onion, salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  In a small bowl, combine beef broth, Worcestershire, and ketchup and pour over meat.  Cook on high for 4 to 5 hours.  After 4 hours, combine flour and water and pour into the crock pot.  Stir into the meat mixture to thicken juices.  Add mushrooms and cook for another 30 minutes.  Mix in the sour cream when ready to serve.

Image

My two cents:
I’m not a fan of onions so rather than slice up a whole onion, I added 2 tablespoons of granulated onion.  I also added a tablespoon of garlic powder with other herbs mixed in.  I cooked some egg noodles to accompany this dish and straight threw it into the crock pot after I drained the noodles (I didn’t want to wash any more dishes).  This recipe was okay.  A part of me feels like it was missing that something to make it phenomenal, though I don’t quite know what it is since I’m completely novice to cooking.  My family seemed to like it though, but I probably wouldn’t make it again anytime soon.  However, I do applaud the easiness of it.  I’m all about easy cooking!

This entry was posted in Gluttonous Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

