Cranberry Orange Cream Scones

I don’t know anyone who didn’t love orange creamsicles as a kid.  There’s just something so complementary with its sweetness, sourness, and overall creaminess.  And who doesn’t like a little nostalgia now and then?  Today was that day for me.  I had already baked cinnamon bun scones yesterday so I just kept within the theme of scones.  Yes, I have an obsessive personality that way.

Cranberry Orange Cream Scones
(adapted from yourhomebasedmom)
Yields: 14 scones

Ingredients:
SCONES —
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup oats, uncooked
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup sugar
1 stick butter
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1/4 cup cool whip
1/8 cup fresh orange juice
2 tsp orange zest
3/4 cup dried cranberries
3/4 cup white chocolate chips
GLAZE —
1/8 cup fresh orange juice
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp orange zest

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 425.  In a large bowl, combine flour, oats, baking powder, salt, and sugar.  Cut butter into slices and work into flour with forks or bare hands.  In another large bowl, combine eggs, milk, orange juice, cool whip, and orange zest.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix.  Fold in the cranberries and white chocolate chips.  Using a 1/4 measuring cup, scoop batter and place on cookie sheet (foiled up and Pam sprayed) 2 inches apart from one another.  Bake for 10 to 12 minutes.  Meanwhile, prepare the glaze by combining the powdered sugar, orange zest, and orange juice.  When scones are done, let cool on a wire rack and glaze after about 5 minutes.

ImageMy two cents:
I knew I had to tweak this Orange Creamsicle recipe when I first saw it because initially, I was craving orange cranberry scones.  I also added oatmeal because the scones I baked last night had it and I really liked it.  As for the glaze, I omitted the 2 tablespoons of butter, simply because I misread it and didn’t see it.  This caused me to change the recipe to only 1 cup of powdered sugar instead of 2 in the original.  Nonetheless, the glaze still came out perfect and it was enough for all 14 scones.  I just hate wasting!  In the end, all modifications worked out and in my opinion, enhanced the recipe even more.  I will definitely be making this one again!

This entry was posted in Delectable Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

