Mini Strawberry Upside Down Cakes

Over the weekend, I bought three 12-ounce containers of strawberries because they were on sale.  Yesterday, I utilized 8 ounces for the strawberry lemon yogurt mini bundt cakes.  I was trying to figure out how to use the strawberries again today.  As I was cleaning up in the kitchen, I spotted my mom’s ramekins.  They reminded me of the mini pineapple upside down cakes I made for my boyfriend’s birthday, so I thought, ‘Why not strawberries?!’  Found a recipe on Pinterest and tweaked it a bit.

Mini Strawberry Upside Down Cakes
(adapted from piarecipes)
Yields: 8 mini cakes

Ingredients:
12 oz fresh strawberries, 3/4 sliced and 1/4 crushed
1 small box strawberry Jello
2 cups mini marshmallows
1/2 box of white cake mix
1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
1/4 cup oil

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350.  Spray 8 ramekins with nonstick spray.  Wash strawberries and remove stem leaves.  Mash up 1/4 cup strawberries and slice up the other 3/4 cup.  Place sliced strawberries at the bottom of each ramekin and try to cover up as much of the bottom as possible.  Mix the strawberry Jello with the 1/4 cup crushed strawberries.  Distribute evenly into ramekins over the sliced strawberries.  Thereafter, distribute mini marshmallows on top of the sliced and crushed strawberries.  Next up, make the cake batter by combining the cake mix, eggs, milk, and oil and mix until smooth.  Top the ramekins with cake batter.  Pop into oven and bake for 20 to 25 minutes.  Let cool for 20 minutes in ramekins then use a knife to run around the sides of the ramekins.  Invert onto wire rack to cool some more or serve with a dollop of cool whip!

Image

My two cents:
The original recipe was much simpler, baked as a single cake, but of course, I like to make things complicated so I changed it up a bit.  No regrets though.  The mini cakes turned out absolutely beautiful!  Made a couple other modifications; one, I didn’t have strawberry jello but I had raspberry, and two, the original used a yellow cake but I used a white cake.  I had used half a box of my white cake mix a month ago and I just wanted to use it up.  Being that I was making mini cakes, I knew I would need less batter anyway so it worked out.  I was skeptical about the marshmallows, thinking it would make the cake too sweet but I didn’t really notice it too much.  The tartness of the strawberries went well with the raspberry jello mix.  I couldn’t help but eat one after it cooled down a bit.  Would be excellent with a dollop of whipped cream!

This entry was posted in Delectable Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

