Strawberry Lemon Yogurt Mini Bundt Cakes

Don’t you hate when you go to the store to buy one thing and come out with a bunch of other things you don’t quite need?  Well, I went to Target with my mom last week and walked out with a new baking pan.  Normally, I wouldn’t just buy things I don’t quite need but my mom was very convincing.  The pan makes a dozen mini bundt cakes — really cute!  I contemplated just waiting for someone to purchase it for me on my amazon wishlist, but I was already there and it was calling out to me, “Take me home!”  After a little searching, I found a recipe perfect enough to try out my new favorite baking pan.

Strawberry Lemon Yogurt Mini Bundt Cakes
(adapted from spicy perspective)
Yields: 20 mini cakes

Ingredients:
2 sticks of butter, softened
2 cups sugar
3 eggs
3 tbsp fresh lemon juice, divided
zest of 1 lemon
2 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, divided
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
8 oz plain Greek yogurt
12 oz fresh strawberries, diced
1 cup powdered sugar

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Mix 2 and 1/4 cups flour with baking soda, salt, and lemon zest.  In another bowl, cream butter and sugar, beating eggs in one at a time using an electric mixer.  Stir in 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice.  Alternate beating in the flour mixture and yogurt, mixing until incorporated.  Toss strawberries with remaining 1/4 cup flour then gently mix into batter.  Spray mini bundt cake pan with PAM then fill up with batter.  Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes (should be on center rack in oven) or until it passes toothpick test.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes then invert and cool on wire rack.  Meanwhile, mix 1 cup powdered sugar with the remaining 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice.  Glaze liberally when cakes are cooled.

Image

My two cents:
Fans of strawberries or lemons will definitely love this.  I happen to love both so it’s a double plus for me.  The lemon zest really gives this cake that citrus kick and the sweetness of the strawberries complement it.  One can opt to omit the lemon glaze but I think it’s that extra something special that should be drizzled liberally.  The original recipe bakes this cake into one large bundt pan, but since I was using the mini bundt cake pan, I adjusted the time from 1 hour to 20 minutes.  I stood by the oven and timed it, using the toothpick test to confirm it was done.  These came out so cute and delicious.  I have no doubt these would be definite party pleasers!

This entry was posted in Delectable Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

