Shrimp Linguine

My previous post went on and on about how much I love Red Lobster because of their cheddar bay biscuits.  The other thing I absolutely crave from that place is their shrimp linguine.  Since I looked up the recipe for the biscuits, I had to search for the copy cat recipe of their shrimp linguine.

Shrimp Linguine
(as seen from food.com)

Ingredients:
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
3 garlic cloves
1 lb shrimp, peeled, de-veined, and tails off
2/3 cup clam juice (or chicken broth)
1/3 cup white wine
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
1/4 tsp dried basil
1/4 tsp dried oregano
8 oz linguine, cooked and drained

Instructions:
Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.  Add garlic then reduce heat to low.  Add shrimp and cook over low-medium heat until opaque.  Remove shrimp but reserve liquid in pan.  Add clam juice (or chicken broth) and bring to a boil.  Add wine and cook over medium-high heat for 3 minutes, making sure to stir constantly.  Reduce heat to low and add cream.  Add cheese, stirring until smooth.  Add shrimp back into sauce — heat thoroughly.  Toss in basil and oregano.  Put pasta in a large bowl and pour sauce over pasta.  Toss gently to coat.  May serve with additional Parmesan cheese.

Image

My two cents:
I liked this recipe but I’d have to try it again with a little modifications.  One, it didn’t taste quite like Red Lobster’s, though it can be somewhat comparable to a small extent.  I used chicken broth the first time around since I didn’t have clam juice on hand.  Would probably try clam juice the next time to see if it would make a difference in the overall flavor.  Second, I was a little bit overwhelmed with the wine taste of it.  I’d probably lessen the amount of wine.  Lastly, I used dried Parmesan cheese, but I’m sure the fresh grated kind would’ve elevated the dish a little bit more.  Other than that, not too bad, but I’d have to try again to get it to my liking.

This entry was posted in Gluttonous Goodies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

